How to use BlurXTerminator with AutoIntegrate?

I’m not sure if you have seen the newly introduced BlurXTerminator (BLX) from rcAstro yet?
It seems truly remarkable.

In this video at 7:15, Adam Block recommends that BLX be used while the data is in it’s linear state right after the creation of the RGB image…it’s ok to use DBE and Color Calibration but that seems about it.

I was wondering if it is possible to use BLX in some sort of 2 step process in version 1.54?
i.e firstly use autointegrate to process up to the creation of the RGB image with only DBE and Color Calibration applied.
Then manually run apply BXT to the RGB image.
Then restart autointegrate from a certain point to perform any additional processing.

My apologies, I am only a relative beginner (3-6 months).
I purchased PixInsight and was completely overwhelmed and ready to give up.
Then I discovered autointegrate.
Your product is solely responsible for the joy that I get from astroprocessing.
I am truly grateful.
Regards,
Garth

Hi Garth,

I just downloaded BlurXTerminator two days ago. I agree, it looks very good.

I have a version of AutoIntegrate in GitHub (GitHub - jarmoruuth/AutoIntegrate: PixInsight script to process FITS and other image files) that optionally uses BlurXTerminator for sharpening. But it uses just defaults (no configuration yet) and runs it quite late in the process for non-linear image. I will add it to an earlier spot in the process while the image is still linear.

I have not tried it myself but you should be able to apply it manually to Integration_L + Integration_RGB images, rename those to Integration_L_start + Integration_RGB_start and use AutoContinue (AutoIntegrate Info). For OSC, you would have only Integration_RGB.

Jarmo

1 Like

GitHub now has a version that runs BlurXTerminator on the linear data.

Jarmo

1 Like

Hi Jarmo,
Thanks for getting back to me.
Very much appreciated.
Regards,
Garth

That’s fantastic. Thanks so much